Vancouver Centennial Plaque #14 – End of the Road


3333 New Brighton Road


New Brighton Park, on wall overlooking the pool


Last seen on June 2014 StreetView, gone by May 2017



The Douglas Road from New Westminster to this site was completed in 1865. A small settlement was established, originally known as “End of the Road”, then Brighton, and in 1868 officially named Hastings. For years the Brighton Hotel was a fashionable resort for New Westminster's elite.”

Credit: Vancouver Centennial Commission, Historic Plaque Program – list and documentation plaques 1-49 (June 18, 1986). Courtesy of Vancouver Archives

In 1865, New Westminster was the capital of BC and the Douglas Road was built to connect it to the various sawmills and small villages that were forming around Burrard Inlet. It became fashionable for people to ride to the “end of the road” for a picnic and visit to the seashore.

In August, the Brighton Hotel (as drawn above) was opened and the settlement around it became known as New Brighton. By 1868, the area was so popular that every day saw three stagecoach trips from New Westminster and a steam ferry made a circuit to Moodyville. The area became the first townsite to be surveyed and registered – then called Hastings.

Credit: Dunbar Loop on Waymarking (June 2010)

The plaque was up on a wall in New Brighton Park, which is a really nice place to visit, with stunning views across the water. Sadly, the plaque isn’t there anymore, but was in place in 2014. And interestingly, it was the same design, but wasn’t yellow. There was also another plaque at this park that was stolen in 2017.

Vancouver’s 100 Centennial Plaques

Leave a comment

Name .
Message .

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published